WEIGHING UP DEALER IMAGE PRO

Dealer Image Pro alternative: the edit without the equipment

Dealer Image Pro is the only tool in this series that mails you hardware: iPad Pro capture kits, a wireframe-guided shooting app, 360 interiors, same-day video, printed window stickers and lifetime training, at a flat $12 to $22 a vehicle, sold by demo. That is a whole operation, and its 150+ five-star reviews back it. So most dealers weighing a Dealer Image Pro alternative are not unhappy with it; the question is narrower: what if you do not need the operation?

Car Background AI

Software only. Edit the photos you already have.

✓ Upload from any phone or camera, results in about 2 to 5 seconds

✓ $0.40 down to $0.20 per photo, prepaid, credits never expire

✓ Automatic plate blur, REST API, 10 free credits no card

Dealer Image Pro

The whole operation. Hardware, capture, publishing

✓ iPad Pro kits with wireframe capture guidance, sold by demo

✓ 360 interior spins, same-day video, printed window stickers

✓ Flat $12 to $22 per vehicle, kit and lifetime training included

VS

Image description

QUICK ANSWER

What is the best Dealer Image Pro alternative?

For dealers who want the photo editing without adopting a hardware-and-service system, Car Background AI is the Dealer Image Pro alternative to try first: self-serve software that works on photos you already have, replaces the background, blurs the plate automatically, and finishes each in about 2 to 5 seconds, at a published $0.40 down to $0.20 per photo, 10 free with no card, credits restored on failed generations.

Choose Car Background AI

When the photos already exist and the backgrounds are the problem. Stock gets shot on staff phones, arrives in trade-in emails, or sits in old exports, and each one needs a clean studio scene and a blurred plate today. Nothing to install, nobody to meet: upload, get the image back in seconds, pay a published rate, and let unused credits wait.

Choose Dealer Image Pro

When you are overhauling the whole merchandising operation, not just the images. It delivers what software never touches: iPad Pro kits, a wireframe capture app that keeps every photographer consistent, 360 interiors, same-day video, printed window stickers, auto-publishing, and lifetime training. The flat $12 to $22 a vehicle covers all of it, including unlimited AI removals. For an end-to-end rebuild, this is the product.

THE FULL SHORTLIST

Dealer Image Pro competitors: from full systems to single tools

Image Pro competitors mostly sell software; almost none ship hardware. That makes this table lopsided on purpose: one row bundles iPad kits and training into its price, the rest price the edit or the subscription alone. Read the systems and the single tools as different purchases, and any cell a vendor does not confirm stays empty.

Tool

Best for

Pricing model

Per-image cost

API

Plate blur

Bulk

Free trial

Dealer Image Pro

Turnkey managed photography: kits, 360, video, stickers, training

Flat per vehicle, about $12 to $22, hardware and training included

Not priced per image; unlimited removals per vehicle

Not stated

Not stated

Unlimited within the vehicle rate

Not stated; sold by demo

Car Background AI

Self-serve background replacement on photos you already have

Prepaid pay-per-photo, no subscription

$0.40 down to $0.20 at volume

Yes, REST

Yes, automatic

Yes

10 free credits, no card

AutoBG

Low entry price with a human check on every edit

Pay-as-you-go, volume discounts

From about $0.13

Yes

Yes, automatic

Yes

Start free, count not stated

MotorCut

Phone-first editing on a monthly plan, UK, EU, US

Monthly subscription, $50 to $400

~$0.33 to $0.63 per credit, derived; ~10 per advert

Yes, programmable; volume quoted

No, plate covers instead

Yes

Yes, duration not stated

Optifo

One app for photo and video, flat or pack pricing, Europe

Flat 129 EUR/mo unlimited, or 500 credits for 89 EUR

~0.18 EUR per image on the pack, derived

Not stated

Not stated

Yes

None specified; unlimited retakes

Spyne

360, video and a retail suite

Subscription through sales

Not public

Yes

Yes, masking

Yes

Demo only

CarCutter

3D showrooms and governance

Enterprise quote, not public

Not public

Yes, API and WebPlayer docs

No, branded plate in

"Not stated" and "not public" mean the vendor's own site does not confirm it. 

THE PATTERNS WE HEAR

What pushes dealers to price a Dealer Image Pro alternative

Rarely dissatisfaction. Dealer Image Pro carries 150+ five-star reviews, and the dealers who run it tend to run all of it. The ones pricing alternatives are usually questioning the scope of the commitment, not the quality. Six patterns.

The kit is the commitment

The center of Dealer Image Pro is physical: iPad Pro kits running the capture app whose wireframe guides make every photographer shoot the same way. If inconsistent capture is your bottleneck, that hardware earns its place. If your photos already come off staff phones, it is priced in regardless.

The vehicle rate bills the whole bundle

About $12 to $22 a vehicle is fair for what it carries: software, unlimited removals, hardware, video, 360, stickers, training, in one number. What it does not offer is a way to buy less. A software-sized need ends up paying system prices.

There is no sign-up page, there is a sales calendar

Dealer Image Pro sells by booked demo, then onboarding, hardware and training. Right for a managed partnership, but it means no published way to start today and no account to quietly test five photos first. Buyers who evaluate by using want a door that opens without an appointment.

Photos that already exist do not need a capture system

A capture-first system assumes the photos are not taken yet. Plenty of inventory arrives the other way: a trade-in with the customer's snapshots, auction images, last season's export. For that inflow, wireframe guidance and iPad kits add nothing; the job is purely the edit.

A managed rollout is not always the pace you want

Hardware delivery, staff training and a per-vehicle structure are the right runway for rebuilding a whole photography operation. But a dealer whose only gap is clean listing images does not want a rollout to fill it. Any onboarding at all can be more than the job requires.

And if the whole operation is the goal, book their demo

An honest list ends by arguing against itself. If you want to rebuild capture, 360, video, stickers, publishing and training as one managed project, Dealer Image Pro is built for exactly that, and Car Background AI replaces almost none of it. This page is for the dealer whose real need was smaller.

The photos on your phone are the only equipment required

Ten free credits at full quality, no demo, no card, no kit in the mail. See your own stock on studio backgrounds in seconds.

Try for free

AT A GLANCE

Car Background AI vs Dealer Image Pro

The two columns disagree by design. One lists what a managed system includes, the other what a piece of software costs. Read the rows as a scoping exercise, not a scorecard.

FEATURE

Car Background AI

Dealer Image Pro

Primary focus

Self-serve AI photo editing software for car listings, web-based

Full-service, hardware-inclusive managed dealership photography system, US

What you get

Editing software only: background replacement, automatic plate blur, branding, bulk

Capture app, iPad Pro kits, AI editing, 360 spins, video, window stickers, auto-publishing, training

Hardware / capture kit

None; use any phone or camera you own

iPad Pro kits with unlimited data and wireframe capture guidance

Background removal + replacement

Yes, studio and dealer-branded scenes

Yes, unlimited AI removal, clean-up and resize per vehicle

License-plate blur

Yes, automatic on every photo

Not stated

360 interior spin

No

Yes, interactive; integrates Insta360 and RICOH

Video

No

Yes, same-day full-motion video

Window stickers

No

Yes, printed exterior stickers plus banners

Onboarding

Self-serve, start today, nothing to install

Booked demo, hardware delivery, lifetime training

Pricing model

Prepaid pay-per-photo, $0.40 to $0.20, published, credits never expire

Flat per vehicle, about $12 to $22, kit and training included

Free tier

10 free credits at full quality, no card

Not stated; entry is a booked demo

Refund policy

Credits restored for failed generations, on request

Not stated

API

Yes, documented REST for bulk

Not stated

Best for

SMB and used-car dealers, marketplaces, private sellers, DMS

Dealerships rebuilding the whole capture-to-publish operation

THE LONG VERSION

Five questions between the system and the software

Dealer Image Pro delivers a managed operation that happens to include photo editing. Car Background AI delivers the editing and nothing else. Five questions mark where that line falls for you.

A partnership or a product: which is on offer?

Dealer Image Pro bundles the whole dealership photo workflow: guided lot capture through its Photo Assistant™ (patented wireframe overlays for consistent shot sequences), AI background removal, 360° imaging from a walkaround video, video creation with dealer branding, and custom window sticker and promotional banner generation. It integrates with major DMS and automotive listing platforms and targets high-volume franchised dealers that want a single managed system.

Car Background AI handles one link, the edit: background replacement, plate blur, branding and bulk, via a browser or a REST API, in about 2 to 5 seconds. No capture hardware, no 360, no sticker printer, no managed onboarding. What it wraps around that narrower scope is paperwork Dealer Image Pro does not publish: a rate card and credits that never expire.

Bottom line: decide whether you are hiring a vendor to run your photography or picking a tool to fix your photos; every other row follows.

Discover Car Background AI tool

What does the finished listing look like from each?

Both products put a consistent, professional car image in front of a shopper, and each controls a different stage. Dealer Image Pro controls the camera: wireframe guides mean the raw shots arrive uniform before AI clean-up runs, and the listing can carry a 360 interior, a video and branded merchandising around the stills. No edit-only tool can replicate that after the fact.

Car Background AI controls the edit: a model tuned to car bodywork, glass and contact shadows takes whatever photo exists and standardizes the background while blurring the plate. It cannot rescue a badly framed shot the way guided capture prevents one, and it produces stills only. What it can do is be tested on your own inventory in ten minutes, because ten credits are free and no demo stands in front of the upload.

Bottom line: their consistency is engineered at the camera, Car Background AI's at the edit; only one can be tried on this month's stock without an appointment.

Try the Car Background AI one-click car photo editor

Dealer Image Pro pricing: a vehicle rate against a photo rate

Dealer Image Pro is flat per vehicle, about $12 to $22, and that one number carries software, unlimited removals, the kits and lifetime training. 

Car Background AI charges by the photo, $0.40 toward $0.20 at volume. At 36 photos a car that is roughly $7 to $14, the same ballpark, but you are buying edits, not an operation.

How much does it cost per vehicle?

$12 to $22

Dealer Image Pro, kit and training included

$7 to $14

Car Background AI at 36 photos, edits only

Bottom line: the per-vehicle rate is fair for everything it includes. Pay it only if you will use what it includes.

Learn more about pricing →

Which one gets the photos where they need to go?

Distribution is a Dealer Image Pro strength and part of the managed promise: finished photos, spins and videos publish automatically to your website and third-party platforms, so the loop closes without anyone exporting files. What its public materials do not describe is a developer surface, no documented API, which fits a service you subscribe to rather than build with.

Car Background AI sits at the opposite end. It publishes your listings nowhere; edited photos return through the web app or a documented REST API at the same per-photo price, and your DMS or listing tool decides where they go. For a dealer that is one manual step they would have automated. For a platform building editing into its own product, the integration can be scoped today without a vendor call.

Bottom line: they close the loop for you; Car Background AI hands your systems a documented endpoint and stays out of the publishing.

See how DMS platforms use it →

How fast can you actually start?

The road into Dealer Image Pro runs through people, by design: book a demo, agree a per-vehicle structure, receive hardware, get trained, and the training never runs out. For a partnership that changes how a whole store shoots cars, that runway is appropriate. What the vendor does not publish is a way to skip it, no stated trial, no self-serve sign-up.

Car Background AI's road is the length of an upload. Open the web app, drop in ten photos, free, full quality, no card, and the finished, plate-blurred versions exist about 2 to 5 seconds after each. If a paid batch disappoints, a failed generation is re-credited on request. One road is built for adopting a system, the other for testing a tool.

Bottom line: their clock starts when the demo is booked. Car Background AI's starts when the upload does.

Try it free on your own cars →

THE VERDICT

Adopt the system or open the software?

Car Background AI

For the edit alone, on photos you already have

✓ Self-serve software, nothing to install, no demo, no hardware, start today

✓ Published pay-per-photo, $0.40 down to $0.20, prepaid, credits never expire

✓ Automatic plate blur and branding in about 2 to 5 seconds per photo

✓ 10 free credits at full quality, no card, failed generations re-credited

✓ Documented REST API for bulk at the same published price

Try for free

Dealer Image Pro

For a complete hardware-and-service photo operation

✓ iPad Pro capture kits with unlimited data and wireframe shot guidance

✓ Interactive 360 interior spins via Insta360 and RICOH integration

✓ Same-day full-motion video plus printed window stickers and banners

✓ Automatic publishing to dealer websites and third-party platforms

✓ Flat $12 to $22 per vehicle, kit and lifetime training included, 150+ five-star reviews

Stick with Dealer Image Pro

Other tools worth comparing

Between a full managed system and a single-purpose editor sit several other shapes: suites, subscriptions, capture apps and generalists. 

AutoBG

Entry pricing near $0.13 per image, with a human reviewer approving every edit before download. The price floor.

Cropy AI

Phone-first studio with guided capture, 360 spin and 4x upscaling; exact credit prices arrive by email.

MotorCut

Subscription tiers from $50 a month with native apps and monthly credit buckets sized to volume.

Optifo

A flat 129 EUR a month for unlimited photo and video edits, aimed at European lots.

CarCutter

3D showrooms and multi-rooftop brand control for groups, priced through a sales process. 

remove.bg

The strongest generalist cutout tool, with no showroom scenes and plates left readable.

THE DATA

The case for spending on listing photos at all

A hardware system and a per-photo editor are both bets on the same finding: photos move inventory. Dealer.com and Cox Automotive measured it, real photos of the actual vehicle lift used-car lead likelihood by roughly 40% over stock. 

Volume compounds the stakes: across 13 real dealer listings holding 465 photos, the writer's benchmark found about 36 photos per car, the multiplier behind every number here, the per-vehicle rate and the per-photo rate alike.

Try for free →

40%

more likely to generate a lead

36

avg photos per car listing

5s

per photo with CarBG

465

photos benchmarked

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Dealer Image Pro cost? 

Dealer Image Pro uses flat per-vehicle pricing of about $12 to $22, depending on monthly inventory volume and dealer-group structure, per its materials and third-party listings. That rate includes software, unlimited AI removals, the iPad Pro kits and lifetime training, and the product sells through a booked demo. Car Background AI prices per photo: a published $0.40 down to about $0.20 at volume, prepaid, credits never expire.

What arrives when you sign with Dealer Image Pro?

A whole operation: the wireframe capture app for iOS and iPad, iPad Pro kits with unlimited data, AI background removal and clean-up, 360 interior spins with Insta360 and RICOH, same-day video, printed window stickers, banners, auto-publishing to your site and third-party platforms, and lifetime training. It covers cars, trucks, motorcycles and powersports. Car Background AI delivers none of that; it is editing software for photos that already exist.

Does Car Background AI need hardware or a capture kit? 

No. It ships no hardware and needs none: it works on photos you already have, taken with any phone or camera, uploaded through the browser or sent through its documented REST API. There is no capture app, no wireframe guidance and no equipment to receive. That is the defining trade against Dealer Image Pro, whose kits and guided capture are the heart of its system.

Is Dealer Image Pro worth it for a store that only needs edited photos?

That is the one profile where the system arguably overshoots. Its per-vehicle rate is strong value for a dealership that will use the hardware, 360, video, stickers and training, and its 150+ five-star reviews suggest adopters do. But every component is bundled, with no published way to buy only the editing. A store whose sole gap is clean listing images can cover it with self-serve software at a published per-photo rate.

Can you try Dealer Image Pro without booking a demo?

Its site offers no published route: no stated trial, no self-serve sign-up, no posted way to test before the sales conversation, which is normal for a managed, hardware-inclusive service. Car Background AI inverts that, with 10 free credits at full quality, no card and no appointment, so the first evidence you see is your own cars, edited.

How does each product treat license plates? 

Car Background AI blurs the plate automatically on every photo, a standard part of the edit rather than an option. Dealer Image Pro's public materials do not state how or whether plates are handled, so this comparison marks that cell "Not stated" rather than assuming either way; it is a worthwhile question for the demo. Automatic plate anonymization in writing is published on one side of this comparison.

Which side covers 360 spins, video and window stickers? 

Dealer Image Pro, on all three and unambiguously. Interactive 360 interior spins with Insta360 and RICOH, same-day video and printed exterior window stickers are all included in its per-vehicle rate. Car Background AI offers none of the three; it produces edited still images only. A dealership for whom those formats are requirements should treat this row as decisive in Dealer Image Pro's favor.

Can Car Background AI stand in for the whole Dealer Image Pro setup? 

No, and it does not claim to. It covers one slice of what Dealer Image Pro does: AI background replacement, plus automatic plate blur, branding and bulk, on stills. It has no capture hardware, no 360, no video, no window stickers, no auto-publishing and no managed training. The real question is not whether the software replaces the system but whether your dealership needs the system at all.

READY TO TRY IT?

No kit in a box, no demo on a calendar. Upload and see

No card, ten free credits at full quality. If the finished photos do not carry your listings, a failed generation is re-credited on request.

✓ No subscription

✓ Failed generations re-credited

✓ From $0.20/photo