MOVING ON FROM MOTORCUT
MotorCut alternative: the shortlist for dealers doing the math
MotorCut is the closest thing we have to a twin: self-serve, SMB-focused, public pricing, an API, still images only. The dealers searching for a MotorCut alternative are not fleeing a bad product. They are doing math on a subscription: five plan tiers, monthly credit buckets, and a $50 floor before the first edit. This page does that math in the open, across the whole market.
Car Background AI
Plans from $29/mo, cancel anytime. No long-term contract.
✓ Plans from $29/mo, $0.17 to $0.39 per photo, cancel anytime
✓ Automatic plate blur on every image
✓ 10 free generations, cancel anytime, built and trained for cars
MotorCut
Subscription plans with monthly credit buckets.
✓ Native iPhone and Android apps, edit on the lot
✓ Half Cut and Full Cut modes, 100+ templates, upscaler
✓ Five plans, $50 to $400 (also GBP and EUR)
VS
Eight tools compared below. This pair overlaps so heavily that most shoppers end up deciding between exactly these two.

QUICK ANSWER
What is the best MotorCut alternative?
Car Background AI is the best MotorCut alternative for dealers who want transparent monthly pricing that scales with the lot: plans from $29 a month, an effective $0.17 to $0.39 per photo depending on plan and billing term, cancel anytime, an automatic license plate blur on every image, 10 free generations, and it is built and trained specifically for cars, through a web app with a documented REST API for bulk.
✓
Choose Car Background AI
When your inventory is lumpy. Thirty cars one month, six the next, and you want pricing that scales with lot size and a plan you can cancel anytime. Plans start at $29 a month, every photo comes back with the plate blurred, and you can try 10 generations free before you subscribe.
✓
Choose MotorCut
When your workflow lives on your phone. You walk the lot, shoot the car, and want the advert finished before you are back at the desk, which is exactly what the native apps are built for. You use Half Cut to keep the real floor and shadows, the 100+ templates, the upscaler, and a predictable monthly plan in your own currency.
THE FULL SHORTLIST
Every MotorCut alternative that publishes a number
Credit where due: most tools in this market hide their prices behind a demo, and MotorCut does not. So this table sorts the field by exactly that: two tools with public per-image economics, one with public subscription tiers, one with a flat public fee, and four where the number is a sales call.
Tool
Best for
Pricing model
Per-image cost
API
Plate blur
Bulk
Free trial
MotorCut
Phone-first editing on a monthly plan, UK, EU and US
Monthly subscription, five plans $50 to $400
~$0.33 to ~$0.63 per credit, derived; ~10 credits per advert
Yes, programmable; volume quoted
No, License Plate Covers instead
Yes, via web app
Yes, duration not stated
Car Background AI
Car-built editing on monthly or yearly plans
Monthly or yearly plans, cancel anytime
$0.17 to $0.39 per photo, by plan and term
Yes, REST
Yes, automatic
Yes
10 free generations, cancel anytime
Spyne
Groups buying imaging,
360 and video as one suite
Subscription through sales
Not public
Yes
Yes, masking
Yes
Demo only
Impel
Enterprise groups and OEM programs
Subscription, typically 12-month
Not public
Yes
Not stated
Yes
Demo only
CarCutter
Groups wanting rendered showrooms and governance
Enterprise quote
Not public
Yes
No, branded plate inlays
Yes
Not stated
AutoFox
European groups wiring capture into their DMS
Quote-based, not public
Not public
Yes, DMS sync
No, branded plate inlays
Yes
7 days, with onboarding
Optifo
Steady-volume European dealers wanting a flat unlimited rate
Subscription
EUR 129 per month unlimited
Not documented
Not stated
Yes
No sales call
AutoBG
Price-sensitive dealers wanting pay-as-you-go plus an API
Pay-as-you-go or subscription
~$0.14 to ~$0.21
Yes
Yes
Yes
Start free, credit count not stated
"Not stated" and "not public" mean the vendor's own site does not confirm it.
THE THINGS WE KEEP HEARING
Why do users keep looking for a MotorCut alternative
MotorCut earns its users honestly: real apps, real editing control, prices on the website. The dealers looking elsewhere are mostly reacting to the subscription wrapped around the product, not the product itself. Six sums, specifically.
The plan bills your slow months too
A used-car lot's volume is rarely flat. The plans invoice monthly whether you list forty cars or four, so in a month where nothing sells, the subscription charges anyway, $50 at the least on Core. Dealers with seasonal stock notice the math only works in their busy months, so the entry price and the exit terms matter more than the top tier.
Credits arrive on the plan's schedule, not yours
The monthly bucket is tied to your tier, 80 credits on Core up to 1,200 on Platinum, at roughly 10 credits per advert. Your listing volume has to track that bucket. Car Background AI inverts the relationship: volume plans that scale with the lot, so you pick the plan that fits your stock instead of sizing your stock to a fixed bucket.
Picking a tier means forecasting your inventory
Five plans, three currencies, and a credits-per-advert calculation stand between you and the first edit. Guess low and you run out mid-month; guess high and you pay for a bucket you never empty. Most independents cannot predict next month's intake, which turns sign-up into subscription arithmetic.
The plate is protected only when someone remembers
On MotorCut, covering a plate is a feature you apply: pick a cover or a branded plate, per advert. Miss one photo in a 36-shot listing and a readable registration ships. If plates hidden is a rule rather than a preference, it cannot depend on the busiest person on the lot remembering a step.
You may be paying for an app you never open
The native apps are the headline of every MotorCut plan, and they earn it, on the lot, phone in hand. But if your photos arrive from staff phones, trade-in emails and old listings, and the editing happens at a desk in a browser, the subscription's flagship feature is one your workflow never touches.
Leaving takes two weeks' notice
There is no fixed-term contract, which is fair, but cancellation requires 14 days' notice, so the exit spans a billing boundary if you time it wrong. Car Background AI keeps it simpler: cancel anytime, with no notice period, so you are never billed for another cycle you did not want.
Run one real advert through
Take the photos from one advert you published this week and process them side by side. Compare the output, then compare what the month cost you. 10 free generations, cancel anytime, before you subscribe.
AT A GLANCE
Car Background AI vs MotorCut
These two overlap more than any pair on this site. The rows that decide it are the billing model, the plate treatment, and the device you edit on.
FEATURE
Car Background AI
MotorCut
What it is
Self-serve AI photo editing for
car listings
App-first car photo editing, UK based, sold in UK, EU and US
Background replacement
✓
Yes, angle-matched studio and dealer-branded scenes
✓
Yes, two modes: Half Cut keeps the real floor and shadows, Full Cut replaces background and floor; 100+ templates plus custom and branded
Plate handling
✓
Automatic privacy blur, every image
✓
License Plate Covers: apply a cover or branded plate; not automatic on every photo
Mobile app
✓
No native app, web only
✓
Yes, native iOS and Android plus web
Image upscaler
✕
No
Yes, a dedicated resolution tool
360 / video
No, stills only
No, stills only
Bulk
Yes, batches plus REST API
Yes, via the web app
Speed
About 2 to 5 seconds per photo
"In seconds," vendor wording, no benchmark published
Pricing model
Monthly or yearly plans, $0.17 to $0.39 per photo, cancel anytime
Monthly subscription, five plans $50 to $400 (£40 to £300, €45 to €350), monthly credit buckets
Per-unit cost
$0.17 to $0.39 per photo, by plan and term
~$0.33 to ~$0.63 per credit, derived; ~10 credits per advert
Commitment
✓
None, cancel anytime with no notice period
✓
No fixed term, but 14-day cancellation notice
Trial
✓
10 free generations, cancel anytime
Free trial available, duration not stated
Sign-up
✓
Self-serve, pick the plan that fits your volume
Self-serve, pick one of five plans
10 free generations
Built and trained for cars
Not stated
Built for
Independents, marketplaces, private sellers, DMS platforms
Dealers and automotive photographers editing on the phone, especially UK and EU
THE LONG VERSION
Five questions, and the third usually decides it
When new users come to us from MotorCut, they usually tell us that they chose Car Background AI because they had to ask themselves these questions.
What is the contract, really?
MotorCut is a focused editor with real depth: native apps plus web, two cut modes, 100+ templates with custom dealership branding, an upscaler, bulk on the web, and a programmable API. All of it packaged as five monthly plans, Core at $50 to Platinum at $400, each with a monthly credit bucket, no fixed term, 14 days' notice to leave.
Car Background AI is the same core job, built and trained specifically for cars: web app and REST API, background replacement with branding, automatic plate blur, and bulk, on monthly or yearly plans from $29 a month that you can cancel anytime, with volume plans that scale as the lot grows. And, said plainly: no native app and no upscaler.
Bottom line: the feature lists overlap heavily. The contracts do not overlap at all.
Discover our AI tool →
Who controls the edit & who automates it?
MotorCut's editing control is its strongest technical card. Half Cut swaps only the background and keeps the original floor and the car's real shadows. Full Cut replaces background and floor for a complete scene change. Add the template library, branded backgrounds and the upscaler, and a careful editor has more dials than we give them.
Our counterpunch is what happens with no dials at all: every photo returns with a studio or branded background and the plate already blurred, in about 2 to 5 seconds, one photo or a batch. On speed, they say "in seconds" and publish no benchmark, so treat the two as comparable and judge on output.
Bottom line: more control on their side, more automation on ours. The same three cars through both settles it.
Try our one-click car photo editor →
What does each one cost per month?
MotorCut's USD tiers are as follows: Core $50, Starter $100, Silver $200, Gold $275, Platinum $400, with buckets of 80 to 1,200 credits, roughly 10 credits per advert. Derived per credit: about $0.33 to $0.63 depending on tier.
Car Background AI: monthly or yearly plans from $29 a month, an effective $0.17 to $0.39 per photo depending on plan and term, cancel anytime, with 10 generations free to start.
How much does it cost to edit photos with Car Background AI?
$54 to $65
200 photos a month, Pro plan, yearly or monthly
$208 to $249
1,000 photos a month, Scale 1K, yearly or monthly
Bottom line: both price lists are public. Only one of them starts below $50 and lets you leave with no notice period.
Learn more about pricing →
Which API can you start using tonight?
Both products take integration seriously, in different shapes. MotorCut's API is programmable across branding, backgrounds, cut type, and output format, integrates with marketplaces and DMS platforms, and the vendor cites capacity for 15,000 daily requests. The API credit allocation is arranged by meeting with their team.
Ours is documented and priced identically to the web app: counted against your monthly plan photos, no meeting to start. Marketplaces and DMS platforms wire it into their own flows and use exactly what they process. Neither vendor ships a pre-built connector catalog, so in both cases a developer does the wiring.
Bottom line: two real APIs. Theirs is scoped in a meeting, ours is priced on the site.
See how DMS platforms use it →
What stands between you and photo one?
Both tools pass the same-day test. MotorCut is self-serve with a free trial and onboarding support in every plan. You can be editing on your phone shortly after signing up.
The difference is the doorway: they ask you to choose one of five tiers on the way in, while Car Background hands you 10 free generations with no decision. When you're ready, plans start at $29 a month and you can cancel anytime.
Bottom line: both start today. One asks you to pick a plan first, the other asks for nothing.
Try it free on your own cars →
THE VERDICT
Same job, opposite contracts. Here’s how you decide
Car Background AI
Best for inventory that moves in waves
✓ Plans from $29/mo, $0.17 to $0.39 per photo, cancel anytime
✓ Cancel anytime, no long-term contract, volume plans that scale with the lot
✓ Automatic plate blur on every image
✓ Bulk and API at the same published rate
✓ 10 free generations, cancel anytime, built and trained for cars
From $29/mo
Try for freeMotorCut
Best for editing that happens on the lot
✓ Native iPhone and Android apps plus web
✓ Interactive 360 from four photos, plus Hotspots
✓ 100+ templates, custom dealership branding, upscaler
✓ Public plans in USD, GBP and EUR
✓ Programmable API; 27M images processed (vendor claim)
If the split is not monthly plans vs car-built editing
The rest of the market divides along different lines. One each, deeper comparisons linked.
Spyne
The full retail suite: imaging with 360, video and lead AI on one sales-led subscription. For dealers whose next move is up in scope. -
CarCutter
Rendered 3D showrooms, human-reviewed output and group-wide governance, by demo and quote. The enterprise answer to a question MotorCut never asks.
Impel
The widest platform here, imaging as one module among many, OEM certifications, annual terms. Group scale or skip it.
AutoFox
Guided capture wired straight into European DMS platforms, sold by quote. A pipeline, where MotorCut and we are tools.
Optifo
The anti-enterprise option: one flat monthly fee, unlimited images. The most direct rebuttal to the demo gate, though it is European-focused with no documented API.
AutoBG
The lowest published per-image rate in the table with a real API behind it. Credits expire, which quietly claws back the discount if volume dips.
THE DATA
Count your photos before you pick any plan
Two numbers frame the whole page. Dealer.com and Cox Automotive found real lot photos beat stock imagery by about 40% on used-car lead likelihood, so the editing is worth doing.
And volume runs higher than plan calculators assume: MotorCut sizes its plans at roughly 10 credits per advert, while our count of 465 photos across 13 real dealer listings put the average at about 36 photos per car.
That gap is not a gotcha; it is a budgeting instruction. Before committing to any monthly plan, ours included, count the photos on your last five adverts and run that number against the price model.
Try for free →
40%
more likely to generate a lead
36
avg photos per car listing
5s
per photo with CarBG
465
photos benchmarked
Frequently Asked Questions
MotorCut publishes five monthly subscription plans: Core $50, Starter $100, Silver $200, Gold $275 and Platinum $400 per month, also priced in GBP (£40 to £300) and EUR (€45 to €350), with monthly credit buckets from 80 to 1,200 and roughly 10 credits per vehicle advert.
For a dealer or automotive photographer who shoots and edits on the phone, yes. The case weakens when volume is irregular, because the plan bills monthly regardless of how many cars you list and the credit bucket is sized to the tier rather than to your actual month.
Car Background AI runs on monthly or yearly plans from $29 a month, an effective $0.17 to $0.39 per photo depending on plan and billing term. You can cancel anytime, there is no long-term contract, and you can try 10 generations free before you subscribe. It is built and trained specifically for cars, with volume plans that scale as the lot grows.
It depends on your volume pattern. MotorCut works out to roughly $0.33 to $0.63 per credit depending on tier, with the spend fixed monthly whether the bucket empties or not. Car Background AI runs on plans from $29 a month at an effective $0.17 to $0.39 per photo, with volume plans that scale with the lot and the option to cancel anytime. Compare against your own monthly volume before committing to either.
Yes. MotorCut's is programmable for branding, backgrounds, cut type and output format, with vendor-cited capacity of 15,000 daily requests; API credit allocation is arranged with their team. Car Background AI's documented REST API is priced the same as the web app, counted against your monthly plan photos, with no volume meeting needed to start.
MotorCut's credits arrive as a monthly bucket tied to your plan tier, from 80 on Core to 1,200 on Platinum, refreshed on the billing cycle. Car Background AI works on plans too: your monthly photo allowance resets at the start of each billing cycle, and unused photos don't carry over. The difference is the price is car-built and transparent, from $29 a month, cancel anytime.
Both technically allow it; only one is priced for it. MotorCut's smallest entry is the Core plan at $50 for the month. Car Background AI lets you cover a single car within the 10 free generations on a new account, and its plans start at $29 a month when you're ready to subscribe, with volume that scales as you list more.
More than plan calculators assume. MotorCut sizes its plans at roughly 10 credits per vehicle advert, but when we counted 465 photos across 13 real dealer listings, the average was about 36 photos per car. Whichever tool you pick, count the photos on your own last five adverts before choosing a monthly plan, ours included.
BUILT FOR CARS
No notice period to leave here
Put one real advert through, all 15-odd photos of it, and judge the output next to your current plan's. If it does not hold up, you spent nothing. If it does, plans start at $29 a month and you can cancel anytime.
✓ Cancel anytime
✓ Built and trained for cars
✓ Plans from $29/mo