MOVING ON FROM CROPY AI
Cropy AI alternative: pricing you can read, plans from $29 a month
Cropy AI has a client list most tools would frame: dealers around Ferrari, Porsche and Ford, in 45+ countries, with a wide toolkit, guided capture, a 360 spin, 4x upscaling. So most searches for a Cropy AI alternative are not about the output. They are about the paperwork: Cropy's exact prices are not published, and you reach a number only by email.
Car Background AI
Published plans on the site. Built and trained for cars.
✓ Plans from $29 a month, about $0.17 to $0.39 per photo, cancel anytime
✓ 10 free generations, car-trained editing
✓ Documented REST API for bulk at the same price
Cropy AI
Mobile-first studio. Wider toolkit, price on request
✓ iOS and Android apps, Smart Photo Assistant guided capture
✓ 360 spin, guided capture, branded plate inlay
✓ Credit plans, exact prices on request, 5 free credits
VS

QUICK ANSWER
What is the best Cropy AI alternative?
Car Background AI is the Cropy AI alternative for dealers who want the terms in writing: transparent monthly or yearly plans from $29 a month, about $0.17 to $0.39 per photo depending on plan and billing term, 10 free generations, a documented REST API, and editing built and trained specifically for cars. Cropy stays the broader product, but its prices are on request.
✓
Choose Car Background AI
When you want the cost known before the first upload. Car Background AI publishes plans from $29 a month, about $0.17 to $0.39 per photo depending on plan and billing term, so you can do the math on a 300-photo month before you contact them. Ten generations are free at full quality, you can cancel anytime, and the REST API bills against the same plan.
✓
Choose AutoFox
When your photos start on a phone in the lot and you want reach beyond the edit. The Smart Photo Assistant coaches each angle in real time, the native apps carry the flow, the 360 spin turns a walkaround video into a studio presentation, and 4x upscaling rescues low-res shots. You email for the exact price, and used credits stay spent.
THE FULL SHORTLIST
Cropy AI competitors: the field in one table
Cropy AI competitors split into two camps: specialists that publish a number you can check today, and specialists or suites that price by plan, quote or email. Cropy sits in the second. The table keeps both side by side, and any cell a vendor does not confirm stays honestly empty rather than guessed.
Tool
Best for
Pricing model
Per-image cost
API
Plate blur
Bulk
Free trial
Cropy AI
Guided mobile capture, 360 and upscaling in one credit plan
Credit plans, monthly and annual; prices not published
Not published (contact help@cropy.ai)
Yes, contact-only details
Yes, plus a branded inlay
Not stated
5 free credits on signup
Car Background AI
Highest image quality on a easy-to-use platform
Monthly or yearly plans, cancel anytime
About $0.17 to $0.39 per photo
Yes, REST
Yes, automatic
Yes
10 free generations, cancel anytime
AutoBG
Low entry price with a human check on every edit
Pay-as-you-go, volume discounts
From about $0.13
Yes
Yes, automatic
Yes
Start free, count not stated
MotorCut
Phone-first editing on a monthly plan, UK, EU, US
Monthly subscription, $50 to $400
~$0.33 to $0.63 per credit, derived; ~10 per advert
Yes, programmable; volume quoted
No, plate covers instead
Yes
Yes, duration not stated
Optifo
One app for photo and video, flat or pack pricing, Europe
Flat 129 EUR/mo unlimited, or 500 credits for 89 EUR
~0.18 EUR per image on the pack, derived
Not stated
Not stated
Yes
None specified; unlimited retakes
Spyne
360, video and a retail suite
Subscription through sales
Not public
Yes
Yes, masking
Yes
Demo only
CarCutter
3D showrooms and governance
Enterprise quote, not public
Not public
Yes, API and WebPlayer docs
No, branded plate in
"Not stated" and "not public" mean the vendor's own site does not confirm it.
THE PATTERNS WE HEAR
What sends dealers shopping beyond Cropy AI
Rarely the output. Cropy AI's studio scenes serve premium-brand dealers, and its capture tooling is the strongest in this series. The dealers who compare alternatives are usually reading the commercial terms, not the photos. Six recurring reasons.
The price list is an email address
Cropy's pricing page describes credit plans, monthly and annual, but the tier prices are not on it; the route to a number is help@cropy.ai. Workable, and many take it, but you cannot model a quarter's budget or compare rate cards without starting a correspondence first.
Once a credit is spent, the money stays spent
Cropy's own page carries the policy: photo credits are non-refundable once used, partially or fully. An initial purchase can be refunded within 3 days, but only while untouched, which is precisely before you have learned anything about the results. Buyers who want the downside in writing look elsewhere.
Five free credits do not cover one car
Cropy's free tier is 5 credits. Our listing benchmark found dealers posting about 36 photos per car, so a free run covers roughly a seventh of one vehicle's set. It is a taste, not a test, and a tester who wants a full angle set feels that ceiling fast.
The API is real, the documentation is a conversation
Cropy offers a "Backgrounding" API for interior and exterior shots, ahead of several rivals that offer none. But the details are contact-only: no public docs, no published API pricing. A developer scoping an integration cannot estimate the build or the bill from the site; discovery starts with the vendor.
The whole flow assumes a phone in the lot
Cropy's strength is capture: the Smart Photo Assistant coaches angles as staff shoot. Brilliant if your photos start that way. But if they arrive from trade-in emails, existing listings or a desk browser, the guided apps that anchor the product are a feature your workflow routes around.
Leaving Cropy costs features, and this page admits it
An honest list runs both ways. Walk away and you give up the native apps, the guided angles, the 360 spin, the 4x upscaler, the branded inlay. Car Background AI replaces none of those; it does background replacement, plate blur, branding and bulk, and stops. Know that before switching.
Read the rate card, then test it on tonight's stock
The prices are public and the first ten photos are free at full quality, so the comparison costs you nothing but the upload.
AT A GLANCE
Car Background AI vs Cropy AI
Thirteen rows in one pattern: Cropy carries more features, Car Background AI carries more published terms and car-specific editing. Neither column sweeps the table. Read the pricing and feature-breadth rows first.
FEATURE
Car Background AI
Cropy AI
Primary focus
Self-serve AI photo editing for car listings, web-based
AI car photo studio for dealers and marketplaces, mobile-first
Background replacement
✓
Yes - indoor and outdoor scenes. Unlimited scenes for background generations; imagination is the limit.
✓
Yes, clean studio showrooms.
License-plate handling
✓
Plate blur available on your photos
✓
Both: blur, and a branded inlay that puts your logo on the plate
Dealer branding
✓
Yes, add your logo to the image
✓
Yes, logo on the background plus the branded plate inlay
360 spin
✕
No
Yes, builds studio presentations from outdoor vehicle videos
Image upscaler
Yes
Yes, automatic 4x upscaling of low-res images
Shoot from any angle
Yes, shoot freely from anywhere, no app or on-screen guide needed
Guided capture with Smart Photo Assistant: real-time angle, zoom and positioning
Mobile app
Progressive web app. No app store needed. Add it to your home screen and it runs like a normal app.
Native iOS and Android apps, plus a web editor
Pricing model
Public. Plans from $29 a month, about $0.17 to $0.39 per photo.
Custom per client, unpublished
Free tier
10 free generations at full quality
5 free credits on signup
Refund
✓
Built and trained for cars: edges, glass, wheels, plates
✓
Non-refundable once used; 3-day refund only if unused
API
✓
Yes, documented REST, same published price
Yes, "Backgrounding" API; details on contact only
Best for
✓
Used-car dealers, car marketplaces, private sellers, dealer management systems
Mobile-first and premium-brand dealers on European marketplaces
THE LONG VERSION
Five questions, answered in the open
Cropy AI sells a broad mobile studio on credit plans priced by request. Car Background AI sells a narrower web tool on plans anyone can read, from $29 a month. Five questions locate the line.
Breadth or transparency: what is each one selling?
Cropy bundles the whole chain: guided capture through the Smart Photo Assistant, native apps for capture and editing, studio-showroom backgrounds, a 360 spin from a walkaround video, 4x upscaling, and plates left blurred or branded. A genuinely wide product, and its premium-brand base suggests the width gets used.
Car Background AI handles one link, the edit: background replacement, plate blur, branding and bulk, via a browser or a REST API, in about 2 to 5 seconds. No capture, no 360, no upscaler, no app. What it wraps around that narrower scope is editing built and trained specifically for cars, plus transparent plans from $29 a month that Cropy does not publish.
Bottom line: count the Cropy features you would actually use; the width is only worth paying for if you would.
Discover Car Background AI tool →
Can either claim the better finished photo?
Both put cars on clean studio backgrounds, both are specialists rather than generic removers. Cropy's roster around Ferrari, Porsche and Ford shows its output satisfies demanding brands; its own figures, +43% clicks and 38% faster sales, are neither adopted nor disputed here.
Where Car Background AI backs itself is the edit itself. It is fully AI-driven and trained on the places car cutouts fail: alloy spokes, glass, the antenna, the contact shadow under the tyre. It shows most on the hard shots. So this page makes the easy claim, not the loud one: run the same three cars through both and judge the output yourself. Ten free generations on one side, five free credits on the other, make it a ten-minute test.
Bottom line: Car Background AI is confident enough to send you off to compare on your own cars. That is the only verdict that counts.
Try the Car Background AI one-click car photo editor →
How does Cropy AI pricing read beside a published rate card?
Cropy AI: credit-based, per photo, monthly and annual, 5 free to start. Exact tiers are not on cropy.ai; the page points to help@cropy.ai, so no number to model with.
Car Background AI: plans from $29 a month, about $0.17 to $0.39 per photo depending on plan and billing term, cancel anytime, first 10 generations free, editing built and trained for cars.
How much does it cost to edit photos with Car Background AI?
~$60 to $120
300 photos, off the public rate card
By email
the same month on Cropy, quoted from help@cropy.ai
Bottom line: we cannot say which costs less, because only Car Background AI publishes prices. Only one lets you model the spend in advance.
Learn more about pricing →
Marketplaces, apps, and where the API lives?
Cropy's distribution is built for the European trade: output aimed at mobile.de, AutoScout24, Coches.net, Blocket, Leboncoin and more, a 45+ country footprint, the workflow in native apps and a web editor. For programmatic work there is the "Backgrounding" API for interior and exterior shots, with the details held behind a contact request.
Car Background AI has no marketplace-specific pipeline and no app; edited photos download from the web app or return through the API, and where they post is your listing tool's business. The API is the part built in the open: documented REST for bulk, billed at the same published per-photo price, so a DMS or marketplace integration can be scoped and prototyped without talking to anyone.
Bottom line: both reach the same marketplaces; Cropy through its apps and a contact-first API, Car Background AI through documentation you can read today.
See how DMS platforms use it →
How soon is a first photo done, and what if it disappoints?
Both start self-serve: Cropy gives 5 free credits, Car Background AI gives 10 free generations. Both finish a photo fast, Cropy says "in seconds," Car Background AI publishes about 2 to 5, so neither wins on speed and this page claims none. Day one, either shows you a finished studio photo.
The paths split next. Cropy's exact price arrives by email and used credits cannot be refunded. Car Background AI publishes plans from $29 a month, you can cancel anytime, and every edit is built and trained for cars. The trial is similar; the terms are not.
Bottom line: getting started is quick on both. Only one publishes its plans and is built specifically for cars.
Try it free on your own cars →
THE VERDICT
So which one should you pick?
Car Background AI
For published rates and editing built for cars
✓ Plans published on the site: from $29 a month, about $0.17 to $0.39 per photo
✓ Built and trained for cars: edges, glass, wheels, plates
✓ 10 free generations at full quality, cancel anytime
✓ Automatic plate blur, branding and bulk in about 2 to 5 seconds
✓ Documented REST API at the same price, no contact step
Cropy AI
For the broadest toolkit and guided capture
✓ Native iOS and Android apps with the Smart Photo Assistant
✓ 360 Virtual Spin from outdoor vehicle videos
✓ Automatic 4x upscaling, plus plate blur and a branded inlay
✓ Dealers around Ferrari, Porsche, Hyundai and Ford in 45+ countries
✓ Tuned for mobile.de, AutoScout24 and the European circuit
Stick with Cropy AIOther tools worth comparing
If neither breadth-on-request nor narrow-and-published fits, the rest of the market covers most other shapes. One line each, full comparisons linked.
CarCutter
The enterprise route: 3D showrooms and multi-rooftop brand control behind a sales process. Group scale.
AutoFox
A capture-to-DMS pipeline for European groups; the price arrives with the quote, not the website.
Spyne
The retail stack around the photos, 360, video and lead tools, on annual plans from $250/mo. Scope, not a cutout.
Motorcut
App-led editing on monthly tiers from $50, credit buckets sized to your listing volume. The tiered specialist.
Optifo
Unlimited photo and video edits at a flat 129 EUR a month, aimed at European lots. The flat-rate option.
AutoBG
Pay-as-you-go near $0.13 per image, with a person reviewing every photo before download. The price floor.
THE DATA
Why the photo budget earns its keep
Both vendors exist because listing photos move metal. Dealer.com and Cox Automotive found roughly a 40% lift in used-car lead likelihood when the listing shows the actual car, not stock.
Volume is the quieter half: across 13 real dealer listings totalling 465 photos, our benchmark counted about 36 per car, which multiplies every per-photo decision here, the plan, the free tier, the refund policy alike.
Run your comparison against your true monthly count.
Try for free →
40%
more likely to generate a lead
36
avg photos per car listing
5s
per photo with CarBG
465
photos benchmarked
Frequently Asked Questions
Cropy AI does not publish exact prices; the page directs you to help@cropy.ai. A third-party figure of roughly 129 EUR for 500 photos circulates, unconfirmed, so no honest cheaper-than claim is possible either way. Car Background AI is public: plans from $29 a month, about $0.17 to $0.39 per photo depending on plan and billing term, cancel anytime.
Yes. Car Background AI is the Cropy AI alternative that publishes its full plan pricing: from $29 a month, about $0.17 to $0.39 per photo depending on plan and billing term, cancel anytime, and 10 free generations to start. You can model a budget from the pricing page without emailing anyone, and every plan runs on editing built specifically for cars.
Yes. Cropy AI blurs plates, and additionally offers a branded License Plate Inlay that puts your logo on the plate, so it covers both anonymizing and branding. Car Background AI blurs the plate automatically on every photo but has no inlay.
Based on its published policy, no. Cropy AI's page states credits are non-refundable once used; an initial purchase is refundable within 3 days only if unused. That refunds regret, not results: once photos run through, the spend is final. With Car Background AI you can test 10 generations free before you subscribe, and cancel anytime so you won't be billed again.
For many, clearly yes. It serves dealers around Ferrari, Porsche and Ford across 45+ countries, and the Smart Photo Assistant and native apps suit phone-first teams. The caution flags are commercial not technical: exact prices arrive by email, the free tier is 5 credits, and used credits are non-refundable.
Cropy AI, on both. Its 360 Virtual Spin builds studio-style spins from outdoor vehicle videos, and its upscaler lifts low-resolution images 4x. Car Background AI offers neither: no 360, no video, no upscaler; its scope is background replacement, plate blur, branding and bulk on stills. If spins or upscaling are requirements, Cropy holds both rows.
The Smart Photo Assistant is Cropy AI's real-time capture guide in its native apps: it coaches camera angles as you shoot, so raw photos arrive consistent. Car Background AI has no equivalent, nothing in the app stores and no coaching at capture; it edits existing photos from any source through the browser or its REST API.
Cropy AI grants 5 free credits on signup; Car Background AI grants 10 free generations, full quality. Against a benchmark of about 36 photos per car, neither covers a full angle set, but ten generations judge exteriors, plates and branding on a real sample. On Cropy the free credits are your only risk-free look, since used paid credits cannot be refunded. On Car Background AI you can test 10 generations free and cancel anytime.
READY TO TRY IT?
A public price list, ten free generations, seconds per photo
No email needed to learn the price, no wait to see the output. If you want a Cropy AI alternative whose pricing is in writing, upload tonight's stock and judge the results before subscribing.
✓ Plans from $29/mo, cancel anytime
✓ Built and trained for cars
✓ From $0.17/photo